Home > Race Meetings > Upcoming Meetings > Ballylinch Stud Classic Trials day
  • We regret to inform you that in response to the Government guidelines that have been issued and Horse Racing Ireland's directive, this race meeting has been postponed. All customers who have purchased tickets will be contacted directly over the next couple of days with additional information. 


    Ticket Prices

    • Adult €15
    • Student/OAP (Gate Only) €10
    • Top Level Seat €30


    The Ballylinch Stud Priory Belle 1,000 Guineas Trial has become synonymous with Classic glory, recent Guineas heroines such as Virginia Waters, Homecoming Queen and Jet Setting have all won this early season trial.  In 2019 we saw the Sheila Lavery trained Lady Kaya commence her three year old season with a win in this race before going on to a length defeat in the Fillies Classic at Newmarket. Sadly we did not get to see Lady Kaya on a racecourse again due to an injury at home, but her defeat of Happen and Irridessa in the Ballylinch Stud Priory Belle 1000 Guineas trial suggested she would have been one of the leading three year old fillies of 2019. The 2019 running of the race produced three further winners including a Listed (Viadera), Group 3 (Happen) and the triple Group 1 winning mare Iridessa from the field of fifteen, highlighting the quality and depth of this trial.


    The Ballylinch Stud 2,000 Guineas Trial was dropped back a furlong to 7 furlongs in 2018. The most winning trainers are Dermot Weld and Aidan O’Brien. Aidan O’Brien has won this race for the last four years. In 2019 Ryan Moore rode the Coolmore Stud owned Never No More to victory ahead of the race favourite Madhmoon. The Sheikh Hamdan owned Madhmoon went on to run 2nd in the Epsom Derby and win the Group 3 Desmond Stakes at Leopardstown after his defeat in the Ballylinch Stud 2000 Guineas Trail. History has proven that this race consistently produces top class horses, including Bach, Refuse to Bend and Famous Name all featuring on its Graded winning roll call.


    The P.W. McGrath Memorial Ballysax Stakes race is a trial race for various European classics. In 2016 the winner was the Dermot Weld trained Harzand ridden by champion jockey Pat Smullen. Harzand was the most recent winner to go on to a classic victory, the winner of the Epsom Derby in 2016. However, the 2017 winner, Rekindling, trained by Joseph O’Brien achieved global glory by winning the richest Handicap in the world, the Emirates Melbourne Cup. In 2019 Aidan O’Brian and Ryan Moore teamed up to take the title spot with Broome who went on to also win the Derrinstown Stud Derby trail and be placed 4th in the Epsom Derby.


    Ballylinch Stud Classic Trials Day is packed full of action where future Group and Classic contenders can be seen.

    Public Shuttle Bus

    From Sandyford LUAS operating on a loop from 11.40am - 7pm approx. Shuttle Bus Times subject to change.

    Race TimeRace Name
    1.40pm The Leopardstown “Summer Sizzler” Maiden
    2.10pm The Ballylich Stud “ Red Rocks” 2000 Guineas Trial Stakes (Listed Race)
    2.45pm The Ballylinch Stud “Priory Bell” 1000 Guineas Trial Stakes (Group 3)
    3.15pm The Leopardstown Members Handicap
    3.50pm The P.W. McGrath Memorial Ballysax Stakes (Group 3)
    4.25pm The Leopardstown Ladies Evening Handicap
    4.55pm The Bulmers Live at Leopardstown Handicap

  • Hospitality Packages

    Ballylinch Stud Classic Trials Day

    • Reserved Table in the 1888 Restaurant which overlooks the parade ring on one side and the finishing straight on the other
    • Located on the second level of the grandstand
    • A La Carte dining
    • Top level seat to view racing from the Grandstand
    • Complimentary race programme and TOTE Betting Facilities

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services. Click here for more info
Accept Cookies